Home>Events > Award Ceremony & Banquet > 2010



Prize Lecture

Prize Forum


2010 Prize Laureate:
Bilbao City Hall

2010 Prize Laureate: Bilbao’s Transformation

City Of Bilbao As Presented At
The Shanghai Expo 2010

The Lee Kuan Yew World City Prize was presented at the Lee Kuan Yew Prize Award Ceremony and Banquet on the 29 June 2010 (jointly presented with the Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize), during the World Cities Summit, at the Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore. The event was well-attended by more than 650 Ministers, Mayors and dignitaries from around the world.

The evening included an exclusive dialogue session with Minister Mentor (MM) Lee Kuan Yew, moderated by Professor Kishore Mahbubani, Chairman of the Nominating Committee and Dean of the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy. The dialogue raised interesting questions ranging from sustainable development to issues of governance.

The inaugural Lee Kuan Yew World City Prize went to Bilbao City Hall from Spain and the Water Prize Laureate 2010 was Yellow River Conservancy Commission from China.

The Lee Kuan Yew World City Prize Laureate was presented with a specially designed gold medallion, an award certificate and a cash prize of S$300,000, fully sponsored by Keppel Corporation.

Summary of the event
Extracted from Faces of Urbanisation - World Cities Summit 2010 Publication, Centre for Liveable Cities, 2011

Dialogue with Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew
Extracted from Liveable & Sustainable Cities for the Future – WCS 2010 Conference Proceedings, Centre for Liveable Cities, 2011